Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

Kosher Foods Tips

Read these 5 Kosher Foods Tips tips to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. Each tip is approved by our Editors and created by expert writers so great we call them Gurus. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Vegetarian tips and hundreds of other topics.

Kosher Foods Tips has been rated 3.2 out of 5 based on 338 ratings and 1 user reviews.
How can I ease into vegetarianism?

Ease Into It

If you've decided to become a vegetarian, making the change slowly is often times in your best interest. Quitting a meateater's life cold turkey on a dime can be difficult. If you ease into the new lifestyle gradually, you will give the body the time it needs to adjust to the big change in diet. By slowly converting to a vegetarian diet you also get the advantage of having more time to read up on nutrition and about vegetarian foods in general. This way, your diet will be satisfying and nutritionally balanced from the start.

A great way to ease into vegetarianism is to start leaning toward a kosher diet. In fact, more than 80% of the people who purchase kosher items are non-Jew vegetarians. When you eat foods with a kosher label you can be more confident that they do not contain animal products.

   
Are all kosher products vegetarian?

Careful with That Kosher

Many people think that any kosher product that is pareve is vegetarian, this is a common misconception. The general definition of "pareve" refers to food products that are categorized as neither milk nor meat. Many people automatically assume this means that the items are vegetarian. However, pareve certified ingredients may contain animal products, such as eggs and fish.

Kosher law is a very complex thing and the bones and skins used in gelatin production, even if they are not slaughtered according to “kosher” specifications, can still be considered pareve by some of the certifying agencies. Before you grab those kosher items off of the shelf in good faith be sure to read the labels thoroughly. If you're not careful you might consume animal products without even knowing.

   
How can I make a vegan kosher butter?

Better "Butter" for Vegans

Just because you are a kosher vegan doesn't mean that you can't enjoy the delicious taste of butters. Believe it or not, butters made from nuts make for a mouth-watering alternative that will taste great spread on just about anything. Here is a fantastic kosher recipe for nut butter:

  • Spread the shelled nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts, cashews, etc) on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes. Occasionally stir the nuts to ensure that they are evenly roasted.
  • Using a hand mill, grind the nuts into a firm paste. If there isn't a hand mill readily available, use an electric blender to make a paste (add oil to help the blending process).
  • When the paste is created, add sea salt to taste and store the mixture in a glass jar (make sure the container is airtight). Keep jars refrigerated.

   
How do I make kosher moyonaise?

Kosher Condiment Recipe

Most people would agree that condiments can make a meal. The addition of these items can add flavor to just about anything. One of the most popular condiments is mayonnaise. Unfortunately, it can be difficult to find completely vegetarian mayonnaise. There are companies that make such things but they are not always readily available. Here is a great kosher recipe for a tasty vegetarian mayonnaise that you can make in your own home:

  • 1/3 cup almonds, raw
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 3 Tablespoon water
  • 4 teaspoon vinegar
  • 4 teaspoon lemon juice

Begin by placing 2 inches of water in a saucepan, and bringing it to a boil. Add the almonds and boil for 1 minute to blanch them. Turn off the heat and set the saucepan aside for about 3 minutes to let it cool. Extract the almonds from the water and squeeze each almond to remove their skins, set aside skinned almonds and allow them to cool.

Put almonds in a food processor or blender and process for 1 to 2 minutes (until finely ground). Add the onion powder, garlic powder, and salt, and process for an additional 30 seconds to blend. In a measuring cup, combine the water and oil. Then, poor into the blender while the machine is still running. Mix in lemon juice and vinegar and continue to process until mixture is thickened.

Put the mixture in an airtight container and chill for about 30 minutes to let the flavors mix together. Then, add to your sandwiches or use as a dip.

   
Is buying kosher foods a good idea for vegetarians?

Buying Kosher

Even if you're not Jewish, the existence of kosher food is a huge benefit to vegetarians. When you buy kosher you can be assured that an item designated definitely won't be made with any type of meat products. And, finding kosher items is simple if you follow the tips below:

  • Shop at bakeries and stores that are certified kosher markets. These are a lot easier to find in some cities than others.
  • Look in your local supermarket for a kosher food aisle, which should have a fair amount of staple kosher items.
  • Before heading out to a market or restaurant call to ask about the type of foods they carry or serve.
  • Look on informative kosher sites like Kashrut.com and KosherConsumer.org and read about the kinds of products that are kosher.

Many well-known companies actually manufacture their food products in accordance with kosher laws. Some of these companies include:
  • Thomas'
  • Lenders
  • Kellogg's
  • Philadelphia
  • Vlasic
  • Pepperidge Farm
  • Coca-Cola
  • Kikkoman
  • Heinz
  • Starbucks
  • Kikkoman
  • Near East

If you are having trouble finding kosher items, try shopping online and having kosher foods delivered.

   
Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Vegetarian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Tammi Reynolds