Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

Careful with That Kosher

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Kosher Foods and other Vegetarian topics.

Are all kosher products vegetarian?

Careful with That Kosher

Many people think that any kosher product that is pareve is vegetarian, this is a common misconception. The general definition of "pareve" refers to food products that are categorized as neither milk nor meat. Many people automatically assume this means that the items are vegetarian. However, pareve certified ingredients may contain animal products, such as eggs and fish.

Kosher law is a very complex thing and the bones and skins used in gelatin production, even if they are not slaughtered according to “kosher” specifications, can still be considered pareve by some of the certifying agencies. Before you grab those kosher items off of the shelf in good faith be sure to read the labels thoroughly. If you're not careful you might consume animal products without even knowing.

   

Comments

Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.



Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Vegetarian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Tammi Reynolds