Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Sweet Treats and other Vegetarian topics.
To some people, a "vegetarian" means no animal products/bi-products of any kind (however, most would consider this diet to be "vegan"). To most people, however, a vegetarian just means you do not eat animal meat (eggs, dairy OK). Assuming you go with the common vernacular understanding of the term vegetarian...where do animal bi-products fit in? While dairy and eggs do not require an animal to die to be eaten, most animal bi-products do.....
Halloween is a great time of year to discuss this since a lot of candy is made with animal bi-products like gelatin and marshmallows. Personally, I consider myself to be a "strict vegetarian," but I will eat gelatin. I don't consciously set out to include it in my diet, and it is something I want to reduce.
According to this partial list provided by HappyCow.com, here are just a few of the Halloween-related, hidden animal ingredients we may not realize we are consuming:
- Albumen: used in cakes and cookies. Comes from eggs, milk, muscles, and blood.
- Carmine: used to dye foods red (such as lollipops). Comes from crushed female beetles.
- Gelatin: used in candy, marshmallows, cake, ice cream, and yogurt. Comes from boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and bones.
- Monoglycerides: used in margarine, cake mix, and candy. Comes from animal fat.
- Shellac/Resinous Glaze: used as candy glaze. Comes from insect secretions.
- Whey: used in cakes, cookies, candy, bread. Comes from milk serum.
To see HappyCow's complete list of animal bi-products, go to: http://www.happycow.net/health-animal-ingredients.html
Some of these common candy ingredients sound pretty disgusting! This Halloween be an informed eater and consider if these bi-products are appropriate by your standard of vegetarianism.