Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

Soy Cheese

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Vegetarian Food Tips and other Vegetarian topics.

How can I use soy cheese in my cooking?

Soy Cheese

Soy cheese is made from soymilk. Its creamy texture makes it an easy substitute for sour cream or cream cheese and can be found in a variety of flavors in natural foods stores. Products made with soy cheese include soy pizza.

   

Comments

2/27/2007 2:19:01 PM
Danielle said:

Yes, but watch for casein (milk protein) that appears in many soy cheeses. There are vegan cheeses on the market, but you will have to read the label carefully.


4/22/2007 1:52:54 PM
Danielle K said:

Watch out for casein, which finds its way into too many soy cheeses. Casein is a dairy protein that helps soy cheese melt. It also ends up in so-called nondairy creamers.


7/2/2007 10:07:27 AM
Rebecca said:

Most soy cheese on the market contains some milk ingredients like whey or casein. It may be a small percentage, but for people who are highly sensitive to dairy products, or philosophically apposed, this may be a concern. Make sure to check the ingredients. I use some for my children, but it doesn't have as rich a taste as real cheese. We've just cut back on those foods that require it.


2/10/2009 12:04:35 PM
margie said:

As a vegan I was very upset to find out that milk protein is in soy cheese, It is disquised as soy cheese or veggie cheese. I read all labels now!!!I only found out by checking on what rennet is, which is a veal cows stomache lining, a substitute can be found in figs.




Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Vegetarian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Patricia Walters-Fischer