Listen to 300+ podcasts by best-selling authors, published Wednesday, 4pm EST!

Pesco-vegetarian

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Vegetarian Diet M-Z and other Vegetarian topics.

What is a pesco-vegetarian?

Pesco-vegetarian

A pesco-vegetarian is a vegetarian who includes fish in their diets, but no other forms of meat.

   

Comments

12/2/2007 9:58:30 AM
Vegetarian said:

Pesco-vegetarian is a made up term for people who pretend to be vegetarians. A vegetarian is a person who eats no animal, period. Last time I checked, a fish was not a vegetable but an animal.

There are only 3 recognized variations of vegetarianism: ovo-lacto, lacto, or ovo. Ovo-lacto-vegetarians eat eggs and milk products; lacto-vegetarians consume milk products but eat no eggs; ovo-vegetarians eat eggs but no milk products. But, ALL forms of vegetarians eat NO meat.

NOTE: Many/most cheeses readily available (especially hard cheeses) are NOT vegetarian, as they are made with animal rennet -- stomach tissue of a slaughtered calf. Cheese labeling often will state simply "rennet", without stating whether or not it is animal or vegetable rennet. Sometimes the package will state that it is "vegetarian", to imply that no animal rennet is used. Soft cheeses such as cottage cheese and cream cheese normally do not contain rennet but might be made with gelatin, which is derived from animal part. (LOTS of prepared products contain gelatin.) You can search the Internet for "vegetarian cheese" to find a list of cheeses by brand and type that are animal-rennet-free.


1/5/2010 12:15:08 AM
Pescatarian said:

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/pescatarian




Name:


URL: (optional)


Comment:


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Vegetarian Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!


Guru Spotlight
Byron White